Stranded

Sometimes we create with purpose and sometimes we just create. All too often, posts are created with the intention of conveying a message, relaying a trend or sharing recommendations. When do we stop and create just to be creative? There is not always the need to write about something specific or teach a fashion lesson. Sometimes creating a story is just in and of itself enough.

As Trashcan Rebellion continues to grow and inspire, I feel even less compelled to stick to posts that have specific intentions in mind. Absorbing all the creativity that this blog allows, means that I am able to convey self-expression in the many forms that I engage with. I have always had a deep passion for editorials – fashion tales that convey mood, feeling and emotion thanks to the curation of style, surrounding and space. Emotion first, fashion second.

 

I am not lost. To be lost, you have to know where it is you’re supposed to be, and I don’t even know that.

 

That is exactly what Ryan and I set out to do with this story. Here, fashion is purely the vehicle with which the narrative is driven. When choosing a story, the possibilities are endless. Getting to play a character is incredibly intriguing let alone a fulfilling project for a wild imagination.Β I fell completely in love with the idea of playing an unknown modern-meets-50’s fashion girl getting lost in the hills. We don’t know where she came from or where she is going, but we can only presume that it is somewhere adventurous. Stranded in the mountains thanks to a broken down car, instead of self-pity and miserable sulking, she chooses to embrace her surroundings and do what she does best – be the star of her own show.

More so than anything else this is a story and being a story teller is one of the biggest privileges life can offer. So here goes the first of many…


Photography – Ryan Shaw

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I really love this post! I love that you create a character and also your pants are amazing, where did you get them?

    Like

    1. Hey Veronica πŸ™‚ I am so glad you liked the post! Creating a character allows me to get a break and have a little fun at the same time. I always put the outfit details in my posts but since this one wasn’t about the fashion, I decided to leave that out. I got the pants from Woolworths last year. I hope you can find yourself a pair!

      Like

Leave a Reply

