Starstruck

meira-3-of-22

When I spotted this dress in the shops a few weeks back, I knew in that instant that I was sold. A dress like this fills a huge void in my wardrobe – a modest piece of clothing that is neither boring nor dull. With its appropriate length and wide shoulder-covering sleeves, I initially picked it out with the idea of Shul (Synagogue) in mind. But I just as quickly realized that its versatility (besides for its dreamy pattern) may be one of its greatest strengths. It can be worn both day and night, smart or casual with just a switch up of shoes, accessories and make-up.

Why showcase one look when you can do two? With that in mind, here is how I styled the dress for a casual day out vs a smarter nighttime look.

meira-1-of-22
meira-5-of-22
meira-3-of-22
meira-2-of-22-recovered
meira-6-of-22

For the first look, I wanted to tone down the dress and make it wearable for daytime. I added a hat, cut-out ankle boots and a long strap shoulder bag. Accessorizing the dress this way gives the look more of a casual, edgy feel. I know most people shy away from wearing all black in the day but I say why not? This outfit shows you how black can be worn just as easily in the day as it can in the night.

For the second look, I wanted to go simple but elegant. I wanted to showcase the dress in a way that would be perfect for nighttime. I chose red lipstick, minimal gold jewellery and a vintage Chanel clutch (we hope it’s legit). This gives the dress a really classic yet elegant feel. I decided to play off the nighttime theme by matching the stars on the dress with a (half) moon clip. Choosing all gold accessories brings a streamlined cohesion to the overall outfit.

meira-16-of-22
meira-15-of-22-1
meira-12-of-22
meira-17-of-22
meira-22-of-22

Outfit Details:

Look 1
Dress – Zara
Hat – Mr Price
Boots – Zoom
Bag – H&M

Look 2
Dress – Zara
Shoes – Woolworths
Clutch – Vintage Chanel
Moon Clip & Bracelet – Mr Price
Rings – Lovisa

Photography – Haylee Pincus

Haylee and I have been wanting to shoot together forever and I am so glad we finally got around to doing it. Haylee is beyond talented and if these images don’t speak for themselves then I don’t what does. We’ve already got some more stuff up our sleeves, so make sure to stay tuned! In the meantime, find more of Haylee’s work via her channels below.

Instagram: @hd._photography

Facebook: HD Photography

Email: haylee@hdphotography.co.za

Website: http://www.hdphotography.co.za

2 thoughts on “Starstruck

Leave a Reply

