Your FAQ’s Answered

_J7B0854

So what actually is Trashcan Rebellion? Are you a model? Who takes your pictures? Do you live in Cape Town?

I get asked these kinds of questions all the time. So I thought it was high time that I write  a post that you guys can use as a reference for all your Trashcan related queries. So here are all your FAQ’s answered.

What is your blog?

For me, this blog is not only a means of self-expression but equally a portal of personal solace. I am able to be completely honest, feel at home and share my thoughts and feelings. Writing is a personal form of therapy for me and this blog is a safe space in which I am able to do that. Because I can’t see exactly who has read each post, I feel as though I am writing purely for myself, which is in and of itself kind of freeing. At the same time, this blog was created with the intent of sharing. Sharing my love for fashion, beauty, lifestyle and travel with the hopes of invoking interest and spreading inspiration. This blog was just as much built with the intention of developing a solid community in which we could feel safe to share our thoughts, passions, dreams and aspirations.

How did you come up with the name ‘Trashcan Rebellion’?

I knew I wanted to create a gender-neutral ageless platform of inspiration. A place where men and women from all walks of life could find the motivation they need to explore and experiment with personal style. So I needed to find a name that could encompass all these elements. I also knew that eventually I want to turn my blog into a business (more on that next). Thus it was important for me to find a name that not only stuck out, but one that I wouldn’t get tired of after a few years.

I wanted to have the word ‘rebel’ in it because I want to inspire people of all ages to be fearless with fashion. Dressing is a celebration of life, so why should we play it safe?

Because my style is essentially a mix of everything, I needed a descriptive element that could incorporate this variety. One of the first blogs I started following was The Blonde Salad. Chiara chose the word ‘salad’ to represent her versatile style. That idea definitely gave me some inspiration for the ‘trashcan’ part. Put it together and voila!

Is blogging just a hobby?

Absolutely not. I have always dreamt of pursuing a career in something that I am completely passionate about. One that I am excited to go to work everyday. All the different aspects that go into this blog are things that I am truly passionate about, ranging from fashion and photography to beauty products and writing. I also love being my own boss and having complete create control.

I have always had an entrepreneurial spirit and creating my own company out of the blog is something that I am working towards. I would love to create interior decor and jewellery lines.

Who takes your photos?

Those who have been with me since the start surely remember the days of my sisters taking photos of me in the garden (throwbacks here and here). However when the blog became more serious, I knew that I needed to invest in good quality images. Since then, I have been blessed to have worked with incredible professional photographers who are just as passionate about their craft as I am about mine. You can find their work all over my blog but here are links to their personal pages.

Maria Riazanova

Instagram:

@mary_riazanova

Website:

www.behance.net/maryriazanova

Tegan Smith

Instagram:

@tegansmithphotography

Website:

www.tegansmithphotographyblog.com

Paulo Toureiro

Instagram:

@paulotoreiro

Website:

www.paulotoureiro.com

Do you live in Cape Town?

Nope. I am Joburg born and bred. I just happen to work with a lot of Cape Town based photographers. So whenever I visit the Mother City, I tend to create a lot of content for the blog.

About the clothes.

All the clothes worn in the posts are mine. I do not wear anything that doesn’t belong in my cupboard. I spend time recreating outfits that I wear daily or ones that I think you guys will find interesting.

What is your favourite part about blogging?

The whole creative process from start to finish. It’s a form of personal expression that I am so lucky to be able to use. I love that I get to share my passions and journey with all of you who are kind enough to read it. And your comments and words of encouragement certainly fuel my passion and drive. (I read every single one and appreciate them more than you know.) I love meeting new and interesting people and the fact that the blog provides me with the opportunity to do such, is truly remarkable.

I hope this helps for now. If you have any other questions, please don’t hesitate to ask. Leave your comments below or send me an email via trashcanrebellion@gmail.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

