Red Wine Winter Dress

Trashcan Rebellion Burgundy Winter Dress

This week has just been one of those crazy ones. You know the kind where you think you finally have everything under control and then BOOM life just throws you one curve ball after the next. You know what I’m talking about right? We’ve all been down that road before.

The irony is, if anything this week wasn’t supposed to be like that at all. After my macroeconomics test on Monday, I thought things would get a little more chilled and all life’s nagging demands would start to calm down. But for some reason it’s been a week of ironing out all those nitty gritty details and fine tuning my schedule.

That being said, I am so fortunate that these little “inconveniences” are just that – little. And with these little mishaps came along some small personal excitements which hopefully I will be able to share with you over the coming weeks.

One such thing that definitely brightened up my week was receiving my images from my shoot with Tegan. Last week, Tegan and I shot at the Hyde Park Hotel and boy was it a treat! One of the biggest joys about working with Tegan is that she is just as passionate about what she does as I am about what I do. (You will definitely see that from all the attention to detail she’s given each image). She always brings such a vibrant energy to our shoots and I always forgetting that we are actually working! It is such a privilege to be able to work with someone who is not only a friend, but is also someone that continues to motivate and inspire me. It is a true blessing to be surrounded by this kind of energy.

Tegan really went above and beyond with this shoot and I am so excited to be sharing the first look with you.

So without further ado, let’s talk fashion!

Trashcan Rebellion Red Wine Dress
Trashcan Rebellion Red Wine Dress
Trashcan Rebellion Red Wine DressTrashcan Rebellion Red Wine Dress
Trashcan Rebellion Red Wine Dress
Trashcan Rebellion Red Wine Dress
Trashcan Rebellion Red Wine Dress

Photography – Tegan Smith

I often find that in winter, dressing appropriately brings a trade-off where you either have to sacrifice dressing well or compromise on warmth. I especially find such to be the case when I am dressing for a religious event like Shabbat (Friday night) dinner. My outfit always seem to fall on one opposite end of the spectrum – looking like a nun (such was the case a few weeks ago) or looking good but feeling cold. For some reason I have never been able to strike that perfect balance up until now.

When I first saw this red wine dress, I immediately knew that I needed it. It is literally the saviour item that my wardrobe has been calling for – a long sleeve dress that doesn’t compromise on warmth or style. The red wine colour is perfect for winter and it’s long enough that I can get away without wearing stockings (I have a complex love-hate relationship with those things). And the fabric has just the right amount of stretch and coziness to it.

For this shoot I purposely kept the look sleek and simple. I really wanted to show off the dress and thus only accessorised with a statement ring, a matching lip and plain black boots. However, that does not take away from the fact that this dress is completely versatile. It can just as easily be made casual with a pair of sneakers and a shirt tied around the waist or worn semi-smart with a wide brimmed hat. Either way, this dress is definitely one of my best purchases this winter and I know its going to be around in my cupboard for many seasons to come.

Outfit Details:

Red Wine Dress – Woolworths (Sale)
Black Boots – Aldo
Ring – Lovisa

 

3 thoughts on “Red Wine Winter Dress

Leave a Reply

