Nostalgia

IMG_2850

Upon scrolling through old pictures on my phone the other day, I came across this picture. For most of you, this photo will probably have absolutely no meaning, I mean its just another Coachella shot, right? But for me this image means so much more.

I saved this picture because I fell head over heels in love with it. At the time I was completely in awe of the girl, her fashion and her vibe and I can still remember this sense of compulsion that came over me urging me to save the photo. (One of the reasons i love fashion so much – it makes you feel something). Looking back at it now, I don’t feel that same sense of appreciation – either because I’ve had the picture for so long and that novelty has worn off or because I’m just over it. Either way, seeing that photo brought back such a sense of nostalgia.

The date I saved it was 25th April 2014 which is almost exactly two years ago today, which would make sense because coachella was last weekend and is happening again this weekend. (Something I’m desperately wanting to do. I mean who doesn’t want to go to an insane music festival in the desert dressed like a 70’s hippie and just rock out to your favourite musicians? Who knows, maybe 2017 will be the year?)

At the time I remember thinking, “if I had a blog, this is something I would definitely love to share on it”. This was in April when I knew I wanted to start a blog, but didn’t quite know how I would do it. And now two years later here we are, photo and all.

It’s crazy to think back to the 2014 version of myself. I was in my second year of Bcom PPE (Politics, Philosophy and Economics), experimenting with fashion and really loving it all. In my New Year’s Resolutions that year, I had promised myself that this would be the year I would finally take the leap of faith and start the blog. (This photo was saved in April and TCR was born in August).

I don’t think the 2014 me could ever comprehend what the little blog idea that I had back then would have become what it is today. I mean I still can’t fully comprehend it.

Firstly, the amount of love and support I get from all of you, is truly overwhelming. I can’t tell you enough how much I appreciate all the likes, comments and words of encouragement. When you stop to tell me that you’ve read my blog or like a post it truly gives me such a sense of fulfilment. I started this blog as a way to express my personal love for fashion and I would never have been able to comprehend the kind of recognition its received beyond my circle of family and friends. The fact that you guys take the time out of your busy lives to check in and read it, means more to me than you’ll ever know. I promise you, each and everything that you do, doesn’t go unnoticed!

Secondly, the fact that I get to work with such amazing and talented creatives is truly a blessing. When I first started TCR, my sisters would take pictures of me in the garden on their phones (proof below). I am so grateful that this blog has expanded far beyond that and now I am lucky enough to be able to work with some incredibly talented photographers and shoot in the most beautiful locations. There is nothing like being inspired by others who are just as passionate about what they do as you are about what you do. That kind of energy is infectious and continues to motivate, push me and fuel my drive.

Lastly, there is something to be said about being recognised by people who you look up to. Last week I received a reply from a fellow blogger with some words of encouragement. To say I’m still having a fan girl moment would be quite the understatement (even though I am trying so hard to play it cool). If you had to tell me this in April 2014, I would have thought that you were crazy! Not only for the fact that this blogger now knows who I am, but also that she’s seen my work and likes it. (Show out to Emma Jane if you’re reading this 😘 )

University at the moment has been an absolute killer and has had me more stressed out than I’ve ever been. Usually I find stress gives me adrenaline and pushes me to work but lately I’ve been more on the inhibitive side of stress. I felt a little discouraged at times and when irrational thoughts begin to take over, it kind of feels easier to throw in the towel and just give up, something I experienced in the early days of blogging when nothing was happening. (Lesson learnt from that – perseverance is key!)

Sometimes its hard to admit to ourselves that we don’t always have all aspects of our lives together (uni for me atm) and most of the time, we probably won’t. Its at those times that its important to remind ourselves about what we do have going on and to celebrate the small victories in life, no matter how small they are. So for me this post was a little reminder of that. Who knows, maybe in two years time I’ll look back and be writing about how things at university just got better from here?

My tests are done (for the mean time) and this weekend I’m looking forward to spending quality time with family and friends. I’ll be having Pesach seders with my huge familia and have a friend visiting from New York and a cousin from Cape Town. (I always love the refreshing energy that comes with people who visit from out of town!)

Wishing all my Jewish readers a wonderful Pesach! And to each one of you, a happy weekend!

image (5)
One of the first posts on TCR. This wasn’t even my garden. And the VSCO filter could definitely use a tone down.

IMG_3614
Sneak peak from my latest collar with Maria. Stay tuned – more coming soon!
 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

