Cape to Cuba

1

I bought this top from a second-hand/vintage store in Tel Aviv while I was there last July. The shop had such a cool concept where every item inside the store was priced at 30 shekels (roughly 90 rand at the time), which made looking for pieces really exciting.

When I first picked up this top, I was incredibly intrigued. Besides for being oversized with massive shoulder pads (between that and the print, this top literally waltzed out of the 70’s), I knew this piece had major potential. After a great alteration involving some nip and tuck and removing the shoulder pads, I fell completely in love with it!

Despite its distinct and vibrant appearance, this top has been incredibly versatile. I have worn it with light blue jean and a white cami underneath for a more casual daytime look and here I’ve paired it with ripped denim shorts, and flatforms for something a little more fun and relaxed.

Typically I wouldn’t have paired the lace bra with this particular outfit because there’s already a lot of skin showing thanks to the shorts. Instead I would have worn the top and bra with tight black jeans and heels for a more evening look, one in which I’m quite covered up, allowing the bra to add an element of interest. However, when I’m on holiday I tend to adopt a “whatever-goes” attitude and often tend to push the limits.

8

4

7

6

3

5

2

Outfit Details
Top – Vintage/Second-hand Shop on Tchernichovsky Street
Shorts – Cotton On
Lace Bra – Cotton On
Bracelets & Rings – Lovisa
Flatforms – Castro

Photography – Tegan Smith  

I love how the whole look came together and especially love how bright and bold it looks against the yellow wall.

What do you think of this look?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I absolutely love this outfit and the versatility of the top! I love learning how I can alter my outfits to suit different occasions. Keep up the excellent work! Looking forward to the next!:)

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for all the love and support Mish! Can’t tell you how much I appreciate it x

      Like

Leave a Reply

