Teal In The Harbour

7

Welcome back Trashcan Rebels! I am so excited to finally show you what I’ve been working on for the past month while I’ve been on holiday in Cape Town. I have lots of brand new content that I know you guys are going to love, so make sure to stay tuned!

2016 is definitely going to be a big year for Trashcan Rebellion, so why not kick it off with a bang and get straight to this year’s first look post.

1

2

5

3

6

4

Photographer – Tegan Smith

I have always loved this teal colour so when I saw this dress at Cotton On, buying it was kind of a no-brainer. I think it works especially well with my complexion, now that my hair is lighter and my skin darker.

I love being able to dress pieces up/down and this look kind of does a bit of both. The denim shirt tied around the waist adds both colour and texture to the dress and conveniently serves as a back-up jacket (because the weather in Cape Town is completely unpredictable). I love wearing sneakers with a dress. It allows me to simultaneously incorporate both the girly and tomboy aspects of my personality and gives the look a little bit of edge, something I always try do in every outfit. Last but not least, the chandelier earrings. This is a trick that I learnt from one of my personal favourite fashion bloggers, Julie Sarinana, from Sincerely Jules. Jules often adds statement earrings to a more casual ensemble. It either adds a bit of pizazz to a plainer outfit or dresses down some elaborate earrings. She always makes it look so effortless so I hope that this look has done her idea justice!

Lastly, I am so thrilled to have collaborated with Tegan Smith on this post. Tegan is someone that I have been longing to work with for ages (I’m sure these images tell you why). I have admired her work for such a long time and couldn’t have been more excited and grateful to have worked with her on this post (and a few upcoming ones – stay tuned!)

We shot this look in the Kalk Bay harbour and I love how the sea, clouds and weather complements my dress and earrings and creates this beautiful, misty and ethereal colour palette and scene that we’ve managed to capture.

Outfit Details

  • Teal Dress – Cotton On
  • Denim Shirt – Cotton On
  • Adidas Stan Smith Sneakers – Adidas
  • Chandelier Earrings – Lovisa
4 thoughts on “Teal In The Harbour

Leave a Reply

